Long term Nostalgia

As insignificant as you two may have been to the world 
to me you two were worth the equivalent of infinite gold. 
I love you and I miss you.
I have a list of the days in which I’ve missed you two and the days in the future in which I’ll miss you two. 
I missed you, when I didn’t get to see your dead body. 
I missed you, when I saw my father cry for the first time. 
The lack of papers didn’t let him see you one last time. 
I missed you, when I saw your dead body. 
I missed you, when I took your ashes to Guadalajara so the others could see them because they were going to be spread. 
I missed you, when I got to your house and it was also dead because you weren’t there. 
I missed you two, when I recorded my first song and y’all couldn’t hear it. 
I missed thee, when I came to my senses and stopped selling drugs.
I missed thee when I started college. 
I missed thee when we found out my mom was pregnant with Grace 
I missed thee when Grace was born.
I cried because you two won’t meet her. 
Yes I secretly cried of happiness and sadness, I missed y’all oh so much. 
I cried and missed y’all.
In the future I’ll miss y’all too. 
I’ll miss you on the holidays that I know refuse to celebrate. 
I’ll miss you when I remember that you would get sad when I wouldn’t in Mexico when I was 10. 
I’ll miss you when I remember about the time on I-55 that you told me to sing and follow my dreams. 
I’ll miss y’all when Evelyn gets married. 
I’ll miss y’all when Cindy gets married. 
I’ll miss y’all when Ashley gets married. 
I’ll miss y’all when Grace gets older and gets married too.  
I hope one day I’ll get married, I’ll miss y’all that day too. 
If I ever have kids I’ll miss you then too.
If I ever graduate from college I’ll miss you then too. 
If I ever become successful in whatever I do, I’ll miss you then too. 
Grandmothers I want y’all to know, I miss you two. 
I miss the strength you guys had and the love you guys gave. 
Leave a Reply

